The first volume of the series, The Elder Gods, is about the invasion of the unsuspecting Zelana 's Domain by the hordes of the Vlagh inhabiting the Wasteland center of the Land of Dhrall. The Elder Gods are each given an infant told to be a Dreamer and are supposed to save the world and defeat the Vlagh. When Eleria, Zelana's child, has the first dream, the Elder Gods go out in search of mercenaries to hire with gold found useless and common in the land of Dhrall. Zelana takes to the East of Dhrall to the land of Maag where she forces a storm to bring the ship and crew of Sorgan Hook-Beak to her domain.

Author:Megore Sagal
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):13 March 2016
PDF File Size:9.10 Mb
ePub File Size:15.91 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

There are eight elder Gods, four awake, four asleep, by turns. When they sleep, they sleep for eons. The only time the Gods are vulnerable is when the sleepers awake.

Knowing this, the Ruler of the Wasteland, ambitious to become a God by destroying Gods, watches and waits, marshalling troops for war. So it is that the coming of the Dreamers passes unnoticed in the Wasteland.

But the world is soon out of kilter, it is being dreamed, and the awakening of Gods is no simple transition. There will be trickery and deception.

Tribes of humans, creatures of the deep, the sea itself and the earth, the weather and the divinities, all will play their part in the epic struggle against the Ruler of the Wasteland. In their own exquisitely effortless style, David and Leigh Eddings weave a web around the reader of magic, mystery and humour. The Elder Gods is the first in a series of four books from the bestselling authors David and Leigh Eddings. It is a magical, action-packed, totally engaging and characterful novel on the grandest scale.

While most continents float freely on the face of Mother Sea, the Land of Dhrall survives anchored by the will of the Gods. All Gods, Elder and Younger, share the people and the land of Dhrall equally This review covers all four of the "Dreamers" series. I don't even know where to start.

I am a big fan of David Eddings. David Eddings was born in Washington State in and grew up near Seattle. Subsequently he worked as a buyer for the Boeing company and taught college-level English. His first novel was a contemporary adventure, but he soon began a spectacular career as a fantasy writer with his bestselling series The Belgariad.

The Elder Gods. David Eddings , Leigh Eddings. A new world and a glorious story destined to reach the biggest audience yet. They are called the Dreamers. They look like sleeping children. They are, in fact, Gods.

The sleeping Gods are stirring. When they wake the battle will begin.


The Elder Gods (Dreamers Series #1)

Only die-hard fans of the bestselling Eddings duo The Belgariad series will enjoy this slow-moving, low-tension epic fantasy, the first in a projected four-book series. The Land of Dhrall dwells under the stewardship of four gods, each oriented with one of the four compass directions. Dahlaine and his brother, Veltan, rule the North and South, while their sisters, Zelana and Aracia, rule the West and the East, respectively. Dhrall's center is a wasteland under the control of That-Called-the-Vlagh, a dark, inhuman thing of vast patience, power and ambition. Prophesy speaks of the Dreamers, children whose dreams will defeat the Vlagh by controlling the natural forces of Mother Sea and Father Earth. Dahlaine and his siblings each raise a baby Dreamer; only after the precocious children start to dream does he reveal that they are actually fellow gods in the world's life cycle, reborn with no memory of their previous lives. Dahlaine and his siblings hire human mercenaries, who eventually meet the Vlagh's forces in battle, but the dark armies prove unexpectedly resourceful.


The Dreamers

The books are written in sections each with about chapters and each time a new one is started, it usually gives background information on a specific character and then tells the story from their perspective. On occasions, it will have a new character in every chapter, such as in the section titled "Many Voices" in The Treasured One. There are eight Gods in the Land of Drahll. Four sleep while the other work for 25 eons, then the cycle ends, and they switch places. The Younger Gods were not supposed to wake up as early as they did, before the end of the Elder Gods' cycle. But Dalhaine felt that they would be of help during the upcoming war against the Vlagh. They were rewoken as the Dreamers, origially with no memory of their past lives.

Related Articles